INK HER available for early download from Totally Bound!

inkher-elleqsabine_promosquare_earlydownloadI’m supposed to write a blog post about how Ink Her is available for early download sale from my publisher, Totally Bound. I’m doing that.

If you haven’t pre-ordered Ink Her at Amazon for the amazing price of $2.99 and delivery on November 22, but want to buy it RIGHT NOW for some mindless, heart-healing escapist reading with a happily ever after, you can do that by clicking this link.

Not only is the cover of this title stunningly beautiful, but Vienna is, too. She loves animals. People. Her father. All she wants to do is to help.

I believe this week we have lived through would have wounded her heart deeply.

Indeed, this week has been fraught with emotions so heart-wrenching that at times it feels like I am accomplishing something just to sit down and read my work email. In truth, I am in the best of all situations. I am a white woman in California who is in a hetero-normative marriage (with any bisexual interests strictly concealed), my daughter the same. I am married, employed, and as of Friday have been at least nominally informed I will still have a job for 2017 (signed contract to be negotiated still). My husband has a job and he is well-paid. We are not in the top 1% but certainly well above the national median (nowhere near wealthy in the expensive consumer world that is California). We can pay our bills every month and have committed to sending our daughter to expensive private school because we chose to live in an expensive town with a terrible school system. My state legislators have already pledged to fight for the progress and equality California has struggled to achieve, in spite of changes to laws and rules at the federal level. My daughter will not even be out of high school when 2020 comes around. By nearly every measure, my life screams privilege.

So what the hell should I worry about, other than an economic downturn that would dramatically impact our future prospects and investment portfolio?

I worry about you. I worry about everyone. I no longer feel that those I care for are safe, and I especially do not feel as if my neighbors, a diverse group of dog owners and young families, are safe. I do not feel as if the people I love and treasure and those who I have yet to meet and care for will be safe. And I am suspicious. Statistically I know that 35% of people voted red in my precinct, in my neighborhood. I probably see them at Starbucks when the pup and I walk by, and maybe I smile at them when I get the mail or greet the deputies who are often in the nearby bus station. They are my father and my mother-in-law, as well as other assorted relatives. I do not know who they all are (although I have some suspicions, given the size of some nearby churches), and that makes me nervous.

So what’s next, besides buying a copy of Ink Her? What’s next is tentatively titled Keep Her. The heroine, Allegra, was born in Guatemala and she is broken. For Atlas to keep her, he will have to resurrect her heart and soul as well as her ability to believe in the future, because Allegra has reason to be broken. When I started this tale, I had no idea how applicable it was to the reality we all now live in, but it is. I need — need — to finish it. My heart aches with the need to finish it. Wish me well.

Have Love. Have Courage. We will rise.

 

Tell Me What You Think...

